Less than 2 days until Flight!

After receiving a Faculty Scholarship for the 2014-2015 academic year and realizing that I could not utilize the award towards my tuition, I was given the opportunity to use this scholarship to enhance my education outside of the classroom. After a long search with the Study Abroad Office, I finally found program that fit my schedule. The International Volunteer Headquarters (IVHQ) offers customizable programs to countries all across the globe and allows students to volunteer for one week to a full year, at times even longer. After realizing that a long flight would significantly decrease my time at the program and that only certain programs started the week I was looking to travel I settled on Latin America. When looking through the various programs available in each Latin American country, Ecuador really piqued my interest with their “street children” program. The description of which is seen below (click to enlarge). I fly out Sunday and return two days before Christmas Eve! I will be meeting a program representative at the airport in Quito (the capital) Sunday evening who will be transporting me to the volunteer house. My orientation starts Monday afternoon and during the morning we will be taking an excursion to the Old City. The online brochure states that an average work day starts around 8:30 a.m.  and ends at 5:00 p.m., however I am sure that could change drastically once I actually get on the ground. The program ends Friday afternoon and from Friday evening until Sunday morning I will have free time to explore Quito and the surrounding area. I had the option to stay at the volunteer house for only $20 a night after the program ended and I couldn’t turn it down! I am very excited to be spending time serving others prior to the holiday season, I think this trip will make Christmas 2014 the best yet.

More to Come.

Program Description

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Best of luck, be safe and have a wonderful experience.
    Love and Proud of You

    Like

Leave a comment